Any troubleshooting guide for custom control chain devices?

My custom control chain device on a breadboard has stopped being recognised by the MOD Dwarf for some reason (“No control chain devices connected”), although it was working when I have fisrt time put it together. I may have screwed it up at some point in time, so I wonder somebody can recommend a step-by-step troubleshooting guide?

UPDATE: Nevermind, I’ve found a troubleshooting guide here. Trying to follow it.

Also, I have about 4V voltage in my 3,2V circuit, and the reason seems to be the transciever, I’ve found it out by trial and error; without the transciever there is perfect 3.2V voltage in that circuit (I’m using MAX489EPD+ as a transciever). Although everything seems to be wired up exactly as on an Arduino shield schematics. I’m not an expert in electronics, so two-part question here, pardon my ignorance:

1. could this higher voltage in the 3.2V circuit have somehow damaged MOD Dwarf’s host control chain?
  2. any ideas why the transciever increases the voltage?
2 Likes

I’m also not the best expert on electronics, but on this one (and not being sure if that is the case) I would say that is possible.

Anyway, @Jan may be able to offer you better help on this one.

1 Like

…though, looking at the datasheet for ISL83491 (presuming this same transciever - as on the Arduino shield - is used in the control chain on the MOD Dward’s side) I see that it is, quote, “Interoperable with 5V Logic”. The way I read it, there should not be a problem communicating with MOD Dwarf over 5V logic.
I would really appreciate an expert opinion on this (@Jan), thanks in advance!

2 Likes

ah you beat me to it, I was just about to reply :wink:

you are right, the Dwarf uses IC’s from the same family, so the higher voltage here should not cause any damage.