Best programming language for effects

Hi, I was allways interested in learning to code and now with the mod duo, I was thinking maybe I start with my own effect.
Could someone give me advise, which programming language to use, where I could get tutorials, etc… or tell me that this is far beyond beginner stuff and I should do some hello world stuff first :wink:

Thanks

I’m not an effects programmer, just a longtime software developer and MOD/Duo fan. Traditionally effects/patches/plugins are written in C, C++ which isn’t known for being developer friendly as compared to other languages that have been created in recent decades. For a total beginner, you might have a better experience with one of the software development kits (SDK) available which provide pieces of code specific to digital signal processing (DSP) problems so you can focus more on the details of your implementation rather than having to spend time writing lower-level math and analysis code common to DSP problems. In addition, you’ll get all the tooling needed so you can run and debug your creations in a controlled environment, usually at the click of a button.

Off the top of my head, you might browse through Faust, or JUCE to get oriented. Please note that neither of these are intended for MOD develoment, I’m suggesting them as potential learning environments. If you create something in Faust or JUCE, you’ll need to rewrite it or convert the code to another form if you want to use it on a MOD device. There is an option of using another project - MaxMSP - and some support for converting your creations directly to MOD plugins but I’m not familiar with any of this at all: https://www.moddevices.com/blog/2017/08/01/maxmsp-integration