ControlChain library on Arduino Leonardo - got it working!

Hi there!

Got my little ControlChain test lab set up based on Arduino Pro Micro. It’s a little messy, with all the wires, but it works.

I like Pro Micro for its excellent size/capabilities ratio, I’m using it the most in my Arduino-based projects, and that’s why it was the only board (except for a Mega :wink:) that I had at hand. Pro Micro is based on ATmega32u4 and is, essentially, a miniature version of Leonardo, which is not listed as supported by ControlChain library, and, in fact, if you try and compile the library for Leonardo, you’ll get an error. I’m an amateur C++ coder, not a pro, but I have found a workaround for it, messing up a little with the library code, so I thought I’d share it so someone may find it useful too (and maybe this tweak will find its way into the git source of the library, who knows).
The bottomline is that Leonardo uses a serial port 0 for USB communication, and a serial 1 for hardware i/o over TX/RX pins, whilst the library tries to communicate through the registers of the serial 0 port. A couple of extra lines of code, and there you have it!

Now while I’m waiting for the spare parts from AliExpress to arrive for my massive footswitch/expression controller board I plan to build, I’m gonna play around with the lab :wink:

18 Likes

Excellent! That’s some great work. I see that you are directly connecting the UTP wire to the various pins on the micro. What is your eventual solution for the RJ45 port? I’ve been pondering that for my own projects.

2 Likes

@malfunction54, no, not a direct connection, I went in line with the Arduino shield schematics, I’m using MAX489EPD+ transciever, I’ve replicated the schematics directly on the breadboard.

3 Likes

Ah, gotcha!

1 Like

Thank you so much for sharing this @TheRedOne!
It actually may turn out to be really helpful even for us internally.

By the way, where have you shared the code?

3 Likes