Degrading Looper

Is there is a “degrading looper” type plugin, similar to the Strymon el Capistan or Industrialelectric Echo Degrader?

The idea is that a sample gradually degrades with each loop playback.

I’m wondering if this could be accomplished by extending the SooperLooper with an effects loop that would process and alter the samples as they’re played? I’m a developer and although new to audio processing and plugin development, I’d give this a shot if there are no better options.

im super interested in this idea, big time. I’ve tried to create one but with no real success.

Well, you could do many things with the output of the SooperLooper. Run it through a delay and a plate reverb and a filter, then feed the result back into the looper input. Don’t forget to add a volume knob for controlling the feedback loop. Depending on what you put into this feedback loop, you will get some weird degrading effects.

2 Likes

I’ll see what I can do with that idea. I want to have older loops degraded and newer ones sounding fresh.

Then leave out the delay, smear the audio with some reverb and filter the highs and lows, this will smear everything more and more with each pass through the looper. Some subtle very long vibrato effect might also work wonders. Start subtle first. You can build up dramatic changes with such a feedback loop, but if you want to for example emulate real tape and some bad circuits, don’t overdo.

1 Like

Thanks for your suggestions. I’ll give them a try. I think though that the samples themselves will not degrade because they’re never actually altered, right? So part of the signal will always contain those dry signals, as pristine as when they were first recorded.

Oh, you are right, the SooperLooper will not allow you to record over the current loop while playing it back. Just checked it on my device. I’ll think about it. Maybe I have another solution…