From Pure Data to LV2 Programming

I am currently waiting anxiously for the Mod Duo to be sent (pre-order batch) and to relieve the anxiety I’ve started dreaming up all the wonderful things I could do with the Mod Duo.

I would love to program my own lv2 effects but I am having trouble wrapping my head around lv2 programming. I am a sound designer, musician and a hobbyist programmer/gamedev. I do most of my programming in Pure Data although I also play around with C#, C++, Java, etc. My skills are limited though and I often describe my code as “artist’s code” as opposed to “programmer’s art”. It’s not pretty although it gets the job done.

So, my question is, as a long time Pure Data user, what path would be most optimal for me? Is it possible to somehow compile Pure Data into lv2 patches? Or should I look into faust and compile lv2 patches from that? What other options are out there?

2 Likes

@JohannesG I can’t speak much about Pure Data and faust, I will let others in the forum talk about that.

But if you have some programming experience I seriously think you should give a pure LV2 plugin a try. There are dozens of open source ones you can use and you already have the support of MOD SDK to build and push them to your MOD (once you have one).

A good starting point would be here:

http://wiki.moddevices.com/wiki/How_To_Build_and_Deploy_LV2_Plugin_to_MOD_Duo

1 Like

It should theoretically be possible. There is libpd to load Pd patches and some prior endeavour to turn Pd patches into LV2s:

As for how well it performs on the MOD (ARM A20 CPU) is a good question. FAUST does have the advantage to go via C++ intermediate (FAUST code -> … C++ -> native compiler with dedicated CPU optimizations), while libpd will run the patch “live” (no CPU optimizations for the patch itself). I suppose you’ll have to try. It may well be acceptable.

1 Like

Oh that’s really interesting. I did not know about pdlv2. I’ll have to give it a try. Thank you @x42.