I know this is a stupid question, but probably I am stupid

I am having trouble to get the dwarf connected in the way I thought it might work. I’m lacking of some basics here, I am not a studied IT professional, I am a simple guitarist on acoustics who wanted to extend its world. I am already stuck in how to connect physically the dwarf into a audio interface(Arturia Fuse Studio). I want to connect an Ukulele and some other instruments via the Arturia and be able to use the dwarf as the multi effect gadget for all of them. Is that possible or am I …? I can’t find any simple drawing, what would help tremendously , showing what kind of cable goes where. Can someone help without to much of a laugh?

2 Likes

Hey Gkendo!

The dwarf should work for this just fine.

I have a small 2 in 2 out interface that I use for recording, and use my mixer to handle the effects to loops.

However, I believe your set up will work similarly.

My particular has a Main out, Out 2 (copy of main), and Headphone (cue) out. I generally use Out 2 as my audio send to my dwarf, and then return from the dwarf (or Duo X depending on what I’m using) back into my mixer.

What this arrangement allows me to do, is to send particular input channels straight into the dwarf for effects.

I looked up your interface and it has 2 options that I can see:
1: use headphone out for an effects send
2: Inserts

This article breaks down the differences.
https://www.music-tech.com/inserts-vs-effects-sends/

I haven’t personally used an insert before, and I’m not sure if you have a return channel or would need an insert cable. I personally use the effects send because it was the easiest one for me to implement in my set up.

There are a lot of people here who have way more knowledge about this situation, and they may have a better solution haha

4 Likes

There are no stupid questions and we all here have a lot to learn and to teach.
I bet that you can teach most of us to play the ukelele (for example) :wink: