Is the Mod Duo for me?

Hi There,

I’m a newbie. I’ve been reading around but I’m still a bit confused – more about what the pedal and available plugs can’t do than what they can. So here is my use case. I’m playing a BassVI with a drummer. Sometimes I set the tempo, sometimes I follow it.

Will I be able to do the following things with a mod duo?

1. Use it as a host for my KMI Soft Step 1, so I won’t need a computer or the MIDI expander? As I understand it, I can link any number of KMI buttons to any number of switches on pedals and parameters, correct? Do I use note messages or CCs or something else to do this?

2. Set up effects “scenes” where I can turn groups of effects on and off all at once using the Soft Step, and do so with complex and parallel routing? Could I for instance:
    –scene1: set tempo to 90bpm, clean sound with reverb, looper 1 cleared and ready
    –scene2: turn on looper record, turn on distortion, reduce feed to reverb (but leave a little in), send a midi program change message out the MIDI port to another pedal
    –scene3: turn off looper1, turn off distortion, boost reverb feed, start record on looper2
    –scene4: play looper1, turn on distortion, reduce reverb feed, stop looper2.
    –scene5, stop everything, mute input, launch sample (while I retune for the next piece)

For each scene, I’d like the expression controller plugged into my Soft Step to control a different parameter.

Etc. This is relatively easy to set up in Ableton Live with ClyphX. This is about as complicated as my setup gets.

1. Could I also use scenes (or whatever they’re called) to select between two inputs on the pedal? Let’s say I have a clean signal going into one and a distorted signal going into the other, or I have an EHX Superego pedal going into one input.

2. Tap tempo and sync time-based effects to tempo selectively (e.g., some, not all)? Or have preset tempos for different scenes?