Looking for advice on levels within a Dwarf to PC/Ableton setup

Hey fellow Dwarfers (Dwarves?)

So I’m still very new to all things MOD/Dwarf and am learning lots as I go. I’m having an issue with my slightly extended DAW setup and I was wondering if anybody here has experienced something similar; and if so, whether I might ask for some recommendations on how to resolve this.

First of all, let me get this disclaimer/caveat out of the way: I don’t think there is any problem or issue with the Dwarf itself whatsoever; I’m surmising that my issue has something to do with setting levels between different interfaces. It seems to me that ‘the devil is in the details’ within any degree of sophisticated signal chain, so I’m sure there are just some settings I need to deal with.

So let me explain my conundrum:

1. When running my virtual rig most simply (electric bass, via Darkglass Clean Bass Preamp and Ernie Ball EVP volume pedal, into Input 1 of the Dwarf, headphones into Dwarf headphone jack, and USB connected to PC to enable access to local pedalboard GUI), everything is hunky-dory; runs perfectly, sounds great. No ground loop issues.