Using MOD technology to turn any PC into a Linux stompbox?

Hi! This is my first post on the forums, I don’t own a MOD Duo, but I’m very thankful to the MOD team for their awesome work, the plugins that they have refurbished and the fact that they make such awesome devices and make them opensource!

I have about 8 years of home studio experience with Linux, and last year I’ve been performing a few live gigs with Linux using KX Studio Live DVD (distro), Openbox (window manager), Carla (plugin host) and ZynAddSubFX (synth) running on a Dell Latitude 3550 laptop.

I had a few bad issues that disabled my setup diring a few concerts (while the rehersals went great) - I tracked down one of them which was a Carla bug I reported (causing multi-part ZynAddSubFX sounds to stutter), but some others (that made my machine freeze) I wasn’t able to debug.

ZynAddSubFX is a synth that I use most in my work for music and sound design - and I’d love to be able to run it for Live performance - it’s not availabile int he MOD Duo though (too heavy? non-rt safe? No idea).

So I wonder if one can build a reliable live music performance system using Linux? I looked at the MOD Github and I wonder - can this software you guys developed be used to make something like the MOD Duo from any (sufficienlty fast) PC?

I don’t even care if it’s going to be a headless system - as long as it’s rock-solid and can run my favourite LV2 plugins.

We have a custom linux system for trying out the MOD software.
See more details here: http://wiki.moddevices.com/wiki/Live-MOD

Focus right now is on the device itself though.
At some point in the future we’ll update that image.

I’m sure to check out the Live MOD system - thank you!

I’ve played with LiveMOD yesterday, and I like the minimalism and that is seems to have a very little overhead and be stable for DSP (I haven’t heard a single xrun). I have 4 questions: