What type of controllers would you like to have on the MOD Duo?

Hi to all MOD-Monsters!

My name is Jan Janssen and I’m a third year student Electronical engineering/Sound Engineering from Fontys university of Applied sciences in the Netherlands. Last week I started my half year internship here at MOD Devices.

I’ve been playing bass guitar for some years now and started messing around with MIDI devices. I’m going to be working on the Control Chain protocol and some cool applications for the Control Chain Arduino shied.

And this is why I want to ask the creative mind of the MOD community a question!
Do you guys have any ideas for really creative Control Chain devices? Or how would you like to control the MOD? I’m trying to come up with some fun and/or useful Arduino shied applications and was thinking along the line of:

-Ribbon controller for faders and knobs.
-Touchless control by distance sensing.
-Gyroscope controls for filters
-Wearable control chain devices.

Or anything else along the line. A great example of some application can be found here!

When these are implemented I’ll make a blog post about it like @jesse did on the Arduino & Expression pedal tutorial.

Love to hear what you guys think :slight_smile: ??

8 Likes

Such “exotic” controllers are cool, and sometimes are actually very good for expression but sometimes a total gimmick that aren’t useable especially while playing guitar on stage. Just make sure they’re consistently controllable. :slight_smile: One thing I could think of would be a 3d touchpad ala the kaossilator. Not sure if the arduino has cap-touch libraries, but it seems like there could be some really cool possibilities if it were flat enough to mount on a guitar.