Where are the setBfree parameters?

Hi everybody !!

I’m very new to the mod duo (and not so new to the linux/ardour/lv2 world ^^ ). What a fantastic pedal and concept. I’ve spent all last night to discover it, but a little disappointed when I realized that x42 setBfree (a so great (the best ?) B3 emulation) has no parameter to deal with :-/
I can access them via midi but would it be possible in a future build to reach them in the parameters panel ? Or having the meaning to export pgm and cfg files from my linux desktop to the mod duo ?
Thanks for reading :slight_smile:

2 Likes

@x42 is the person to answer that :wink:

The short answer is no.

You can either have them available as controls (and under MOD control) or the plugin itself can respond to MIDI-CC. You cannot have both.

Say you send a MIDI-CC to move a drawbar and at the same time move a control. There’s a conflict. Who would win? The technical reason: A plugin cannot modify its own inputs (ie. receive CC and set a control-input which is under host’s control).

The proper solution for this would be to allow a MOD-GUI to send/receive MIDI-CC to control the backend. This is not yet possible with official MOD (There’s a prototype for LV2 Atom communication which will eventually allow this, someday).

Likewise the current MOD does not yet allow upload of files via the web-interface…

Meanwhile you can probably copy config giles manually to modduo.local:/root/.config/setBfree/default.cfg and modduo.local:/root/.config/setBfree/default.pgm (after creating the folder ~/.config/setBfree/ on the MOD.

There are already about 32 /normal/ controls (drabars + switches) binding those via MOD to CC per pedalboard would already be a PITA. – Furthermore setBfree has few million internal parameters. Exposing them all via control-parmeters would be plain mad.

2 Likes

PS. Why would you want to do this anyway?